Nidderdale U7s Tournament

We are the proud hosts of the Nidderdale Junior Cricket League Under 7s Tournament. This year’s competition takes place on Sunday June 14th. Besides the finest young cricketers in the county, there will be a BBQ, bar and other refreshments. The action starts at 10 am. Keep an eye on here for further news.

Knights and Squires meet the Vikings

photo (10)The U9’s have been working very hard this season.  With two teams, as well as plenty to catch up on after a wet start, we have been able to give almost all their first taste of league cricket.  We have also been able to offer additional coaching most Saturday mornings which has proved very popular.  All the U9’s, Squires and Knights, were invited to the T20 Blast Match, Yorkshire Vikings vs Durham Jets as a treat and in order to catch some real live cricket.  Whilst the result reflected a very poor batting performance by the Vikings the children had a wonderful time and enjoyed meeting the players after the match.  Thanks to the parents for giving us this great opportunity – we hope to do it again next season!01d7f56bfbde9487d26e65b69766fd5f21ccbd98ca

Stars of Tomorrow

On Sunday 15th June, 9 teams – Studley Royal, Ouseburn, Harrogate, Goldsborough, Masham, Ripley, Beckwithshaw, North Stainley and Spofforth – competed in the Nidderdale League Under 7s Tournament here at Spofforth CC. After a series of exciting group games, North Stainley, Beckwithshaw, Studley Royal and Goldsborough reached the semi-finals. In a couple of well contested games, Beckwithshaw and North Stainley were victorious and went on to contest a competitive final. The scores in the final were Beckwithshaw 221 and North Stainley 232. This meant that North Stainley were the 2014 Champions following on from 2013 winners, Follifoot. The medals this year were presented by the Nidderdale Junior League Secretary, Mick Dawson and Ryan Bradshaw, Captain of Harrogate Cricket Club.
The day was a great success and it was brilliant to witness so many keen and talented young cricketers enjoying the matches and playing the game in the right spirit. It was easy to see the future stars of tomorrow. Spofforth will be hosting the 2015 Tournament and it is hoped that the competition will go from strength to strength. Many thanks also to parents and coaches who all contributed to a successful day.
2014 Under 7s PresentationSpoff U7s 2014

Nidderdale League U7s Tournament

Once again we are hosting the annual Nidderdale League Under 7s Tournament. The event takes place this Sunday 15th June and the action starts at 10 am. We will have 12 teams – Studley Royal, Pannal, Masham, Ripley, Follifoot, Goldsborough, North Stainley, Beckwithshaw, Ripon, Harrogate, Ouseburn and ourselves – competing to win the competition. Will last year’s winners Follifoot triumph again?

Besides the cricket, there will be a BBQ, refreshments and the bar will be open. Please come along!

Having a Blast at the T20 Blast


Friday saw 8 of our juniors included in the Guard of Honour for the Yorkshire Vikings as they entertained the Northamptonshire Steelbacks at Headingley. The boys were Flag Bearers as the players entered the field to a wonderful reception. At the interval, the boys took part in a fun fielding game in front of the famous Football Stand End. Despite the result – Yorkshire lost by 3 wickets with a ball to spare – the boys had a great time and were treated to some great cricket from Tim Bresnan, Liam Plunket and Richard Pyrah. Well done Oliver, Zak, Archie, Will, Daniel, Ethan, Chester and Noah!image imageimage

Junior Presentation Day – Sunday 8th September

On Sunday 8th September Spofforth’s juniors came together for one last chance to play some friendly inter-club cricket and afterwards to present trophies to those individuals with the best overall performances throughout the season.

[slideshow id=7]

This season’s winners are as follows, congratulations to all !!








CR Eames – Batting Ben Jarvis Archie Barratt


CR Eames – Bowling Archie Barratt Joseph Davis


CR Eames – Fielding Daniel Winterhalder Odhran O’Duchon


Cudworth – Batting George Grafton Chester Ribbons


Cudworth – Bowling Ethan Westerman Angus Graham-Rack


Cudworth – Fielding Ethan Westerman Chester Ribbons



Richard RobinsonMost Promising U12 Ethan Westerman


Steve Wilkins – Batting Jonny Winterhalder Henry Mountford


Steve Wilkins – Bowling Henry Mountford George Grafton


Steve Wilkins – Fielding Jacob Hann Henry Jackson


JP Lakin – Batting Ben Honey George Thompson


Ken Lakin – Bowling Olly Wootton Seb Clancy


JP Lakin – Fielding George Thompson Bradley Hope


Jamie Bruce Junior of the Year Joe Horne